Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Tell me honestly what you would choose out of these two jobs

(54 Posts)
maggiethemagpie Mon 08-May-17 20:48:45

So I went for a job interview today. The interview went swimmingly, I really got on with the interviewer (who'd be my manager) and he said at the end that he really liked me and I was through to round two. The job sounds exciting, there'd be lots of project work, it'd be a step up from what I do now, he said he could develop me and I think I could learn a lot from him.

However, the job would be office based on a single site and the office didn't even look very nice.

At the moment I'm home based with travel 1-2 days a week, in a role with NO development whatsoever, and I'm completely bored. I'm sick of working at the level I am, there are no promotional opportunities and I've been doing the same thing over and over again for several years. I'm fed up with the company and the culture. However it's great being home based, makes the day shorter and I usually don't even have a full days work to do (I often have gaps in the day I can use to do stuff around the house/go shopping/do whatever I like)

Pay wise it'd be a slight drop in the new job (ironically I'm overpaid in my current role compared to skills/level) plus commuting costs plus loss of mileage to meetings would equal around a drop of £4 k or so.

But it would be so good for my development that it would increase my earning power in the years to come.

I know I haven't been offered it yet, but things are looking good, I think I am down to the final two or something.

What would you prefer - more money, time to yourself, no commute, but no development and feeling slightly bored.

Or give all that up to work in a pokey office with strip lighting every day but have lots of development in a company that seems to be going places, exciting work, opportunity to learn and grow....

sazzleevans Mon 08-May-17 20:54:04