Talk

Advanced search

Flexible working application. How can I guarantee they'll give me the hours I want? Please help!

(8 Posts)
CrispsCrispsCrisps Thu 27-Apr-17 11:30:36

Hi. I currently work full time doing 37 hours a week, often a lot more. I'm on mat leave with DS2 and with DS1 just struggled working all hours as well as home stuff. This time I want to drop two days week and work three long days. The issue here is I am a Project Manager and kind of feel it might be hard with my role. It is doable if my employer gives me small and manageable projects but it's at their discretion.

I'm filling in my form and have to say how the change will affect my employer and colleagues and how the effect can be dealt with. Is there anything I can write which makes my application watertight so it can't be rejected?

For what it's worth I have very good performance to date and have been requested personally to work on projects in the past so I know if I went back 3 days a week the business would still want me to manage their projects because of reputation. All I know is I can't go back working all hours again because I'll lose my mind! Any suggestions welcome

prh47bridge Thu 27-Apr-17 13:00:01

I'm afraid there is nothing you can write that will force them to accept your application. They have to consider it properly but can reject your request provided they have a good business reason for doing so. All you can do is try to show that the impact on your employer and colleagues is manageable.

CrispsCrispsCrisps Thu 27-Apr-17 14:33:18

Hi. I know I can't force them to accept it and will detail a second option as well which means I can be in the office for more days but shorter days.

Do I just say the work/life balance will mean I'll be more productive when I am in?

strugglingwithmaths Thu 27-Apr-17 14:39:32