Talk

Advanced search

Surely this can't be legal?! Any HR about?

(31 Posts)
wishesandkisses Sun 12-Mar-17 20:32:05

My partner works in a call centre for a major company (I won't name just in case) and is 3 levels up. He has been on sick for 4 weeks as he has a pain disorder. The doctor is trying find him the best medication but he is still very poorly. He is planning on going to work tomorrow despite the fact he is still grey, sleeping through out the day and taking so many painkillers. His work has started hassling him to come back and Ive suggested getting a sick note. He's replied THEY DO NOT ACCEPT SICK NOTES. Is this legal? I am not a doctor but I can tell you he is not fit for work. The drive alone would be dangerous. But apparently it's all self certification. I appreciate that we would struggle if he got sacked but he is so so poorly that he is going to struggle tomorrow and potentially make himself worse. Any ideas. Tia

flowery Sun 12-Mar-17 20:50:56

What does he mean they 'don't accept them'? Do they hand them straight back? Has he been posting them in so far?

wishesandkisses Sun 12-Mar-17 21:13:37

No he's just been ringing in, they basically let you self certify without a note but if they sack him there is no proof he was even poorly!

Figgygal Sun 12-Mar-17 21:15:14

He needs a copy of their sickness policy to understand what their processes are

If they say they don't need them (which is very unusual) they can't then take action against him for not providing them

mymatemarmite Sun 12-Mar-17 21:18:00

Are they paying him whilst he is off?

ShatnersBassoon Sun 12-Mar-17 21:19:18

Usually self-certification covers only the first 7 days of absence, so he should have had a fit for work note from his doctor after his first week off.

www.gov.uk/taking-sick-leave

LIZS Sun 12-Mar-17 21:20:40

After 5 days he should provide a fit note. How long has he worked there and could he be covered by dda? He could contact acas.