Talk

Advanced search

NHS application form

(11 Posts)
pennycan Sun 12-Mar-17 15:34:39

I am applying for an NHS position and I know that each item of the Person Spec needs to be addressed. My question is does it matter where? It feels more natural to do a lot of it within the previous/current job description. Or should that be a lot briefer and factual and to use the Supporting Info section to elaborate? To complicate matters it's a trainee position and the only job/person spec they have added is for the eventual Band 5 role. Thanks for any advice.

Gingernaut Sun 12-Mar-17 15:39:40

There should be an instruction somewhere on the form not to repeat information given elsewhere.

You are correct. If you have addressed the points in the job description, you don't have to reiterate those points again in the personal statement.

cowbag1 Sun 12-Mar-17 15:46:03

I'm an NHS recruiting manager; the job description sections for each position you've held should be used to list all of your duties in that post as succinctly as you can. The supporting info section should then be used to show how you meet the person spec by addressing each of the essential critieria and as many of the desirables as you can in turn. Working through them in the order they are set out in the person spec will make it easier for the shortlister and make sure you mirror the language used in the person spec so that it stands out if they are only skim reading (which they may do if they have 30 plus applications to read!)

cowbag1 Sun 12-Mar-17 15:47:56

Also, as it's a trainee position I would put a paragraph in the supporting info about what has led you to this position and where you hope it will take you.

yecartmannew Sun 12-Mar-17 15:56:37