Talk

Advanced search

Handed in my notice yesterday now regret it

(11 Posts)
Cloudhopping Sat 25-Feb-17 04:52:15

I would really appreciate some advice. I have been offered a role in my field of work with a different company. The advantages are a reduced workload and I haven't been happy with a large part of my job for sometime. The disadvantages are slightly less pay (£500 per year) and less flexibility in the role. I have a year 4 and year 6 dd.

I accepted the conditional job offer yesterdsy (it's subject to references etc which I know shouldn't be an issue) but haven't signed the contract yet. I handed my notice into my current job yesterday. (3 month notice period) I've been there 4 years. The workload is very high and can be stressful but I have a degree of flexibility and I get more leave.

I've been up since 2am worrying that I've made a big mistake and want to rescind my resignation and now decline the new offer- has anyone done this? I'm worried that less flexibility will have a bigger impact on childcare and pressure on my dh. I'm also now worried about building up sick leave and pension rights again.

Liiinoo Sat 25-Feb-17 05:32:39

This sounds like '4 o'clock in the morning madness'. Not meaning you are insane but that anything you start worrying about at that time of night always seems so much worse than it does in daylight.

Try to get some sleep and then tomorrow think about it again. And when you do, don't underestimate the value of a smaller workload and a fresh start.

Zampa Sat 25-Feb-17 05:46:18

Liiinoo is completely right. Worry about it (or not) after a decent sleep.

There are a number of reasons why you accepted the job on the first place and if it doesn't work out, you don't have an obligation to stay. However, the change may be the best thing for you.

RC1234 Sat 25-Feb-17 05:56:21