Talk

Advanced search

Work dilemma - advice needed

(8 Posts)
Upduffered Mon 20-Feb-17 16:02:07

Overview : I work in the hospitality industry for a large company. My contracted role states supervisor yet I am currently acting as manager as the general manager left while they search for a new manager. I am the current boss of the site, yet there has been no written notice of this nor a new contract. I am also on hourly pay. I currently work 45 hours week and have a two year old DD who is in nursery two and a half day a week. I have 70 hours of holiday I cannot take due to staffing levels. I have been able to work as much as I do because DD's father and I are separated and she stays there two days a week.

I am at my wits end. I am working 5 days a week and when I am not working, there is still work to be done ( Rotas/paperwork/ordering etc). I didn't agree to be the manager, it was just put on me. I am exhausted, feeling physically sick at the thought of going to work every day and my anxiety attacks which I have not had for 6 months have returned. I feel like I am compromising myself as a parent by working so much and I never signed up for this in the first place. Am I within my rights to request an hours reduction given I am on a 0 hours contract? What I want to do is work when she is in nursery ( which totals 30 hours a week over 3 days) plus the occasional weekend.

Upduffered Mon 20-Feb-17 18:17:27

Anyone?

Heratnumber7 Mon 20-Feb-17 18:22:04

Are you in a union?
Have you discussed with your manager? (You must report into someone).
Have you discussed with HR?
Have you tried delegating some of the tasks?

Unless you tell someone you're unhappy no one will know you're unhappy.

Jojobythesea Mon 20-Feb-17 18:33:31

Sounds awful. I have no advice but I reckon if you change the heading to go in AIBU you will probably get more help. smile

Upduffered Mon 20-Feb-17 18:44:49

Not in union.