Talk

Advanced search

Nannying and the life after..?

(15 Posts)
NannyJones Tue 07-Feb-17 10:46:20

Hi,

This is my first time posting (in years if not ever) so please be gentle..

I've been a nanny for 12 years now, and whilst I always thought this would be my lifelong career I'm struggling.

I'm well paid, but only part time. The job is ok but had a fair few of its complications..

Have any of you other nannies thought about your next career move and where you'd go? What am I even qualified/skilled for except looking after children..?

Is there a position that wouldn't mean a huge huge pay cut..?!

I'm just so stuck - I want to move on but I don't know where 😩

Tia x

sweetheart Tue 07-Feb-17 10:48:55

I have a friend who used to nanny, she is now a TA in a school which works well as she now has her own children. She says she would eventually like to do teacher training.

I'd imagine working in a playschool or nursery would also be a good step. Or perhaps you could nanny on a cruise ship or work as a holiday rep if you fancied travelling.

NannyJones Tue 07-Feb-17 10:51:47

Thanks,

A nursery or school would be a drop in hours and probably hourly rate too!!

Due to get married so galavanting around the world probs wouldn't go down well with my h2b 😂🙈

Deranger01 Tue 07-Feb-17 11:02:21

it is tricky isn't it because childcare things are generally not well paid. Is teacher training not an option? If maintaining your current income is paramount, you may need to think about non-childcare related options as nurseries and TAs don't earn great salaries unless you get into the management side of it. Related things would be people facing jobs I expect?

Deranger01 Tue 07-Feb-17 11:05:00