Talk

Advanced search

I left my job yesterday, theyve asked me to stay, could I negotiate my hours?

(13 Posts)
OneWithTheForce Fri 03-Feb-17 19:19:42

I work in retail. Due to a A childcare issue and me realising my son needs me at home more than I realised and some issues with how my company is run I made the decision to leave and gave my notice yesterday. However my employer has today asked me to reconsider leaving and offered to give me a zero hours contract that would allow to me to turn work down when I'm not available. I was sceptical TBH, and said that I felt that might leave my manager in a tricky position if I say no to some work and she is then short staffed. She said they will be hiring another member of staff to replace me anyway so it wouldn't be an issue. I've told her I will think about it and now i am wondering if I should ask if I can do school hour shifts on a term time only basis. I have applied to register as a childminder so I can be at home fully for my son but that will take several months before I will be able to earn money. Original plan was to do cleaning work during school hours until I am registered but if my employer would agree to school hour shifts with school holidays off it would save any worry about trying to find cleaning work and being without an income.

Is it a reasonable proposal?

TortieandWhite Fri 03-Feb-17 23:22:36

Worth a try, what have you got to lose? smile

FlyWaxSleepRepeat Fri 03-Feb-17 23:26:26

Well you could ask, and they could say they agree to it, but as you'll be on a zero hours contract there's no guarantee that they'll stick to it.

OneWithTheForce Fri 03-Feb-17 23:35:31

Yes that's true, I have nothing to lose.
I think maybe thats what is niggling fly, that I accept and then end up with no income.

redexpat Sat 04-Feb-17 11:32:07

Well you could accept their zero hours offer, but continue to look for cleaning work. There are no guarantees either way.

flowery Sat 04-Feb-17 16:51:32