Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Affair with boss

(50 Posts)
user1485639128 Sat 28-Jan-17 21:42:04

I am an outside contractor for several different work sites.

I have been sleeping with a married managing director and his wife has found out. She called me today.

I do not have a written contract with this company, but I have been there for 6 years now.

He asked me to cover for him by not revealing he whole truth and I did. I feel awful for not being completely honest with her but I do not know this woman so I have no loyalty to her.

I am due to go back in on Monday afternoon and don't know what to do or where I stand. I have heard from him since I spoke to her so I don't whether this will affect my job. Can he just get rid of me after 6 years whether I have a contract or not?

OnceUponATimeInAVest Sat 28-Jan-17 21:45:42

If you're an outside contractor he's not your employer, right? How can you not have a contract?

But, realistically, your affair is over and you need to look for another job.

user1485639128 Sat 28-Jan-17 21:48:08

I only referred to him as my boss because he is the one who pays me. I'm not bothered about it ending. It was just sex. I just wanted to know where I stand in terms of whether he can stop me going in there after 6 years of service. I'm classed as self employed

DearMrDilkington Sat 28-Jan-17 21:49:04

Did you post about this the other week?

user1485639128 Sat 28-Jan-17 21:49:41

No this is my first time posting on this site

IhatchedaSnorlax Sat 28-Jan-17 21:57:46

Unless there's a way to claim they're your substantive employer, then I think they can get rid of you quite easily claiming the contract is finished.

I'd be tempted to seek legal advice.

LauraAndBaby Sat 28-Jan-17 21:58:37