Talk

Advanced search

Forensic psychology... anyone work in this field? need advice

(8 Posts)
juicychops Fri 27-Jan-17 17:27:54

It was a dream of mine to work as a forensic psychologist in a prison and studying psychopathic behaviour. Being a single parent its been hard to get started but i did my Psychology degree through the OU but stopped at that as my son was too young at the time for me to go to Uni to do a Masters.

Anyway, its now been 4 years since i got my degree and i have done nothing with it. Ive been stuck working in finance as it was easiest to plug away at what i knew whilst my son was growing.

Anyway, im now getting on a bit (32) and my son is now 12. I need to consider working full time at the end of the year as i'll be in a position to do so with my son needing me less and less. But the thought of working full time in finance literally makes me cry!!

Firstly, i feel like i need reassurance that it's not too late to re-visit my old dream, and secondly, if i did decide to do the OU Masters in Forensic psychological studies will it actually open any doors in the area i want to work in, or am i deluding myself? I have read in all my research 4 years ago that it is actually really hard and long to get a job in Forensic psychology so how much closer will i be after another 2-3 years of studying?

If there is anyone else out there working in a similar field, can you please enlighten me with how you made it, what qualifications you got and experience you had to have before you could get your foot in the door.

Thanks!!

ThenBellaDidSomethingVeryKind Fri 27-Jan-17 17:51:52

I'm in a related field: one option would be to look at facilitating accredited programmes in prisons. AFAIK you could do this with the qualification you already have. Many staff do their FP higher training alongside it.

juicychops Fri 27-Jan-17 18:10:16