Talk

Advanced search

Wish employers would have a flippin' clue what they're trying to achieve!

(5 Posts)
Pollyanna9 Tue 17-Jan-17 18:52:28

I'm a Change Manager and joined a company in September '16 to bring in a change programme to their organisation. We're using a piece of software which gathers data that can then be analysed to find out what the areas of the business are that need change, how and so on. So been doing that for this entire time working incredibly hard on it.

Wasn't that long in that one of the Directors started trying repeatedly to pull me off onto other pieces of work and droning on about 'oh we don't know if we're going to proceed' [with the change work I'm doing] and general waffling about it.

I soon realised that they have absolutely no buy-in at senior level for the software product I am implementing, that the framework for it within the company isn't supportive of it at the highest enough level so that I'm working on the ground literally on my own (in an 11,000 person company) with no comms from the big boys/directors/chief exec - and thus the work I'm doing is achieving the targets they set, but it's not implementing as well as I would like because I just don't have the support to achieve it.

If this were not bad enough they are now creating a software solution which is almost bloody IDENTICAL to the one that I'm already rolling out! But they're putting everything into it, all the support, all the cross-site framework and the message to the staff is v v clear that it HAS to be done, no resistance allowed (which is what my change project needed but has never had). It is SO disheartening hearing them going through all the pieces of work and processes and stages that I went through getting my one up and running, and now they're repeating doing that again for something that does the same thing!