Talk

Advanced search

Can they do this?

(14 Posts)
user1470064958 Sun 15-Jan-17 19:38:44

Hi I'm new to mumsnet and a new mum and am desperate for some advice?

I left my work last May around 8 months ago to have my DD.

I was employed at a restaurant before baby where I had worked for 2 years, I always was assured I would have a job to return to if I wanted to and although I never had a contract my maternity allowance paperwork was filled out with good grace. During the time working there I did every Thursday and Friday night.

DD was born in June and a did a shift casually in August as they were short staffed. Late September I tried to arrange some shifts at the end of October to start up again doing a night a week.

As a response I was told I could have a great reference so glad I was well etc etc but they didn't need my staff at the moment . Since this they have employed other people whilst never offering me the available shifts. I was also removed from the staff Facebook page.

All in all it's been sh*t as I loved the job and thought I had a lot of friends there.

So the question is legally can they do it as I worked there for such a long time and they filled all my maternity allowance paperwork confirming my hours over the previous year. I'm wondering if I had any rights and if there's anything I can do at all really? sad

TammySwansonxx Sun 15-Jan-17 20:14:31

Sounds extremely dodgy. It seems they have made you redundant, but hired other staff so you may well be looking at a maternity discrim case. But with no paperwork etc it's complex so you really need to see a solicitor.

tribpot Sun 15-Jan-17 20:24:46