Talk

Advanced search

Recruiting and managing an apprentice

(3 Posts)
Stoneagemum Sat 26-Nov-16 22:52:31

My company is restructuring roles to redistribute workload in a more manageable fashion. The result of this is we need to take on someone to do basic admin and reception. I suggested that this role would suit an apprentice as the tasks that they would be doing are part of what I currently do and years ago I started as an apprentice and have worked my way up. (The restructure entails me taking on other duties)

Although I'm an office manager I have always worked in small business so OM has always been the admin/reception too so I have no experience of managing people, let a known training a school leaver!

I have found an apprenticeship provider who do the recruitment and give me a shortlist from which to select for interview. Which brings me to my second point, the only recruitment experience I have had was last year, doing the first cull of cv's and being the 2nd person on shortlisting and interviewing for an admin assistant for a colleague.

If anyone has any advice, tips or pointers for me it would be most appreciated.

buckingfrolicks Sat 26-Nov-16 23:07:43

it's ALL about attitude in my experience. At their age, they know absolutely bugger all that's useful smile So look out for signs of proactivity (hobbies in cv); and for how they manage being told what to do - after all, a huge amount at first will be them being told to do basic things. Ask about their attitude to basic tasks and how these contribute to the smooth running of the organisation.

Ask about their travel arrangements - some haven't thought how they will get to you.

When we got apprentices they usually sent pretty good candidates. So your recruitment experience will be okay -