Anyone escaped Nursing? What did you do next?

(17 Posts)
Babyroobs Mon 14-Nov-16 23:12:03

Just that really. I have been a nurse for 30years and never really done anything else except a bit of nannying as a teenager. I am desperate to leave/ change career. My job is making me ill and I'm suffering from anxiety and depression. I don't want one more Christmas ruined by worrying about work, I don't want to have any more flashbacks of horrible situations that have happenned. I'm physically exhasted from working more than my fair share of nightshifts and quick turnarounds back onto days. I am pushing 50 and just can't do it anymore. We need my wage coming in as we have 3 teenagers that are costly and I am considering joining a couple of Nursing banks just to get by ( and so I can avoid night shifts).
Has anyone left nursing and managed to forge a new career which pays a similar wage? if so what did you do? I doubt I could get another student loan to retrain as I have already got one degree which I did full time many years ago. Any suggestions appreciated. I have considered other types of Nursing but I think realistically I just want to get out of nursing altogether before it's too late.

felinewonderful Tue 15-Nov-16 11:03:47

Hello, sorry I can't help but I just wanted to say that I feel exactly themail same as you. Nursing has caused me a lot of anxiety and stress. I am on maternity leave at the mo moment and really don't want to return to nursing in any capacity. I can't see any other option but to retrain or take a lower paid job.

felinewonderful Tue 15-Nov-16 11:04:17

Sorry for the typos!

GRW Tue 15-Nov-16 21:11:15