Talk

Advanced search

What job did you do after uni? Feeling depressed

(17 Posts)
Catsandbooks Mon 03-Oct-16 12:52:58

I'm posting here but not sure if it's in the right place. Apologies for how long this is, I'm just feeling pretty despondent at the moment sad

I graduated with a humanities degree from an RG uni and I don't know what to do next. Currently I am working part time in a call centre but it really isn't where I want to be at all. I feel like I'm wasting my life but I don't know where to go from here.

I hoped to get on to some sort of graduate scheme but I didn't have chance to apply to many in my final year. I had issues with family illness so finishing my degree was my priority. I'm applying for schemes for next year but it's very competitive. I have applied for a wide variety of jobs but not had much luck. A lot of my friends are going into teaching but I don't feel it's right for me.

Academically I have good results (A's at A level and a 2:1) but I guess I lack in experience. Every position seems to want lots of experience. I have previously worked in a call centre and a retail job during uni. I know voluntary work might help with building up my CV but I need to earn enough to get by as I'm renting.

I would really like to know what sort of jobs you did after uni and the career paths you followed?

thesandwich Mon 03-Oct-16 12:56:10

Have you been in touch with your uni careers service? They are usually excellent sources of help. Voluntary work etc will help.
Congratulations on your degree in challenging circumstances.

maggiethemagpie Mon 03-Oct-16 13:02:13