Changing jobs and preganncy nhs

(8 Posts)
Kitkat23 Sat 01-Oct-16 06:45:27

Sadly I'm being forced to change jobs as changes in my current workplace mean that I can no longer continue working there- childcare issues! Yes I've been down the flexible working route and the proposed shifts are just not going to work for me. I'm looking for a new job and have a few interviews lined up. We are also ttc. what I'm wondering is if I change jobs and find out I'm expecting how will his effect my maternity pay? I work for the nhs so would be changing trusts but have over 8 years continuous employment within the nhs. Thanks in advance smile

ShoeJunkie Sat 01-Oct-16 06:53:48

My understanding is that if you move within the NHS all you entitlements remain the same.

waceystills Sat 01-Oct-16 06:56:53

I'm a NHS manager, and as a pp says, you will have continuous service so no need to worry.

Kitkat23 Sat 01-Oct-16 07:09:29

Thankyou so much for your responses. I'm in a very difficult situation with work and am upset that I'm going to have to change jobs. However it could be a positive thing in the long run as am looking at jobs that are more family friendly. Your messages have put my mind at ease should I find I am expecting as it's something me and my husband dont what to put on hold either.

Fruityflapjack Sat 01-Oct-16 07:11:15

Be careful and check. The NHS Trust I currently work for requires 2 years service with them before the 18th week in of pregnancy, regardless of whole NHS service. You would still get statutory mat pay, but not occupational may pay.

I would advise giving the HR dept of the Trust your are applying to a call to check their policy.

RuskBaby Sat 01-Oct-16 07:16:22

I've started maternity leave yesterday, Changed trusts whilst very early days pregnant just didn't know it. I won't be receiving full maternity pay so do double check.

Fruityflapjack Sat 01-Oct-16 07:19:27