Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Job Interview - NHS Library Assistant

(6 Posts)
Sweetpea15 Tue 26-Jul-16 17:17:14

Hi,

So I'm a recent MA graduate (Jan) in English Literature and I've got an interview with the NHS as a Library Assistant. I currently have a job but it's in retail and a more of a student type job IYSWIM, whereas this could be an amazing opportunity for me.

The more I'm researching the more I'm starting to worry. A few sites have mentioned typing tests - but I'm not sure if that's just admin. Others have mentioned key words and being assigned points for mentioning them. I also can't find my GCSE certificates, will I actually need them? I have my A level ones and my degree ones but my mother has lost my GCSE ones.

Has anyone else interviewed for this role before? Any tips or advice?

annandale Tue 26-Jul-16 17:23:27

Right, don't worry.

Can you actually type? They may ask for a test but it's more likely for admin. I would have thought they want accuracy for a library assistant over speed.

The key thing with an NHS interview is just to keep talking. Whenever they ask you a question, just come up with a relevant example from previous work, degree or whatever, and explain how that shows how good you are/what you learned from it. Keep talking and coming up with more examples until you get strong signals that you've said enough or until you really have run out of things to say! They will be looking to tick off certain things that you need to have for the job but won't mark you down for talking a lot unless what you say is completely irrelevant.