Talk

Advanced search

Longshot but as a HE Administrator would you consider my skill base suitable for a library assistant?

(7 Posts)
mammasmadhouse Tue 31-May-16 18:46:44

Ok I work as an administrator in HE in a research environment, have previously worked in finance/personnel/nhs roles, how transferable would you consider my experience/skills..?

DebCee Tue 31-May-16 19:00:25

Can't comment on the appropriate skill mix, but do know from a librarian friend that there are a lot of surplus librarians at the moment but very few jobs.

So - if there is a specific vacancy you have in mind, worth having a go but recognise there may be others more qualified.

If you are thinking of a general career change, probably not the best choice.

Flak32016 Wed 01-Jun-16 21:26:45

Due to council cuts a lot of libraries are closing

Secondly, libraries are not just about books. A lot now offer other activities for various age groups like craft days, meet a pet, board games, singing, adult meet ups for various hobbies, careers advice etc

I would look for a different career

EBearhug Thu 02-Jun-16 00:11:43

Are you thinking of public libraries, academic libraries or company libraries?

Library assistants don't usually have professional qualifications, so yes. It's shelving and filing (electronically), issuing and returning books, showing users how to log on to the internet and so on. And the pay is usually rubbish.

If you want to be a librarian, you'll probably need professional qualifications - but I'd have thought your skills would mostly be transferable, if you've worked in research environments and know about research. However, as has been pointed out, there's a lot of competition these days, because there have been so many cutbacks. Even before then, you often had to wait for people to die or retire before there were promotion opportunities.