Talk

Advanced search

Job dilemma

(15 Posts)
Iamdazedandconfused Tue 22-Mar-16 18:24:49

I hope somebody can help with some outside perspective! sad

I apologise that this will be long...

Basically I'm a trainee solicitor, I qualify later this year. I've worked for my current firm for several years. I get on well with my colleagues, including my boss, but the firm is quite small and has been through issues with previous members of staff in the past which made it feel unstable.

As the firm is small they only practice in personal injury, child care proceedings and employment law. The vast majority of my training was in child care which I feel very competent in and that's the field I'd qualify into if I stayed at my firm.

My boss warned the whole firm a while ago that newly qualified solicitor jobs (there are 4 trainees including me at the moment) were not guaranteed because of some economic uncertainty around PI changes and legal aid (for child care).

As a result I went and applied to another bigger local firm with a view to taking a newly qualified position in their crime department. Crime is something I've been interested in for a long time and something I could see myself working in, but I obviously have no experience of it first hand to guarantee that I'd like it. I've now been offered a job in that department for when I qualify and the salary is higher than what I would anticipate being offered at my current firm.

My problem is whether to stay or go, essentially. I really like the people I work with but I'm underpaid and I doubt my qualifying salary would be as good as at the other firm.

I don't know whether to take a bit of a leap of faith and hope I like the new field and new people, or to stay where it's comfortable. Im very worried that I might leave and hate it! On the other hand, I'm also concerned about staying put and regretting it. The new place is quite structured/traditional and my current place is much more flexible.