Talk

Advanced search

Need to earn more money to counteract lack of tax credits

(10 Posts)
deb24mea Sat 20-Feb-16 17:04:15

I am a single parent with 2 children. In a couple of years my tax credits will stop due to their age. At the moment I work part time in a school office, but need to up my game and get some experience in the private sector, so that when my tax credits come to an end, I can still afford to pay the bills/mortgage etc. I have recently been told that my hours are to be cut as of Sept 2016, so now I really need to be finding an alternative career. I had a career break for over 10 years whilst bringing up my boys (I was still married then). Prior to that I worked as an Insurance Claims Handler, but that doesn't pay enough for me now. Ideally I would like to be a PA, but according to the job agencies I need experience in the field. I am not sure if I should be doing a PA course at college or home study, or try and get a lesser paid job in an office to gain some general office experience whilst I still qualify for tax credits, so that in 2 years, I will be more experienced. The whole thing is really daunting. It was not my choice to be a single parent and for life to be the way it is. I am finding things tough. Any sensible suggestions as to the best way forward would be much appreciated. How do other people survive after their tax credits stop? Thank you.

thesandwich Sat 20-Feb-16 17:09:36

There are some great free and cheap on line courses out there to boost skills- Google do some, learn direct and others- and groupon do some great online courses like excel for £19 ish.
Could you look to gain voluntary experience with a charity? Good luck.

deb24mea Sat 20-Feb-16 17:39:31

Thank you for that advice - I will take a look at on-line Excel courses - that is one of the skills that I lack! I will also check out local charities to see if they need any free office assistance. That is possibly something that I could consider during the school holidays.