Opportunity to retrain? HR maybe?

(28 Posts)
Peppaismyhomegirl Fri 08-Jan-16 12:57:07

Hello. I am being made redundant and there is an opportunity for me to retrain as where I live has funding for education if you are facing redundancy.
Pre children- I was a retail manager. Managed large teams of people. After children I dropped down to part time sales assistant. I still assist the manager as we get on well, I enjoy doing it and I can help, this is out of goodwill tho no payment or anything.
I want out of retail. I'm thinking of going into HR as I enjoy working with people and getting the best out of team members whilst being fair. I am considering doing a computer and admin course and then working towards my cipd? Does anyone have any advice or information? I will need major catching up on computers and see applications needing knowledge on sage and office systems which I will need to start with. But do you enjoy your job in HR? Is it easy to fit in around the children? (No weekend work being a major issue for me) I am pg with my last child and I'm using this redundancy to start the process of getting myself prepared for full time work in 3 years time. Something for me.

Peppaismyhomegirl Fri 08-Jan-16 18:37:10

Anyone?

HermioneWeasley Fri 08-Jan-16 20:33:33

I love my job, but actually in HR you are dealing with unpleasant things a LOT of the time - telling people they haven't got the job, disciplinaries, sickness management, redundnacies.

If you like working with people, I'd stay in management.

confusedandemployed Fri 08-Jan-16 20:37:53

Agree with Hermione. I love it, but it's certainly true that people hire me to do the jobs they don't want to do. It's a messy job, HR, and I didn't go into it to become the popular girl in the office. Which is lucky, really grin

HermioneWeasley Fri 08-Jan-16 20:40:27

Its rare that when the HR person enters the room, everyone else thinks - "wow, it's time to have FUN!" grin

Peppaismyhomegirl Fri 08-Jan-16 20:46:09