Talk

Advanced search

Maternity pay confusion!

(11 Posts)
Beckywood1989 Mon 19-Oct-15 21:37:57

Hi all
My husband and I are hoping to start TTC in January. I currently work as a nanny and the family I work for are leaving for a year in Australia at the start of February. We decided this would be a great time to start trying. I have a couple of days work lined up and the mother isn't at all fazed that we're planning a baby. However, 2 days work does not make up for the 53 hours I'm currently working.
Can I stick with nannying knowing that I'm planning my own family? Can I take maternity leave working for a family? (I realise that legally I can but I would feel terrible) Or should I get a "proper" job and risk the backlash of falling pregnant soon after starting??
Perhaps I should have listened to my father and not gone into childcare!

00100001 Mon 19-Oct-15 21:51:19

you're entitled to SMP at the least - your employers should sort it out for you.

www.nannytax.co.uk/employee-rights/statutory-maternity-pay

nannynick Mon 19-Oct-15 22:12:33

Can I stick with nannying knowing that I'm planning my own family?

Yes, as a nanny you should be an employee like any other so are entitled to the same rights at work. It can be tricky at times but you should try to go to work on your work days and your employer will hopefully make some adjustments to your job, such as letting you have more time to sit down during the day.

Can I take maternity leave working for a family?

Yes, if you qualify for SMP, for small employers that is funded at 103% so the family are able to pay you your statutory payments. You build up holiday allowance whilst on maternity leave, that is not accounted for in the government funding so there is some cost to your employer. Your employer would have the hassle of getting a temp nanny to cover your leave.

If you do not qualify for SMP, such as being pregnant before you start the job, then you may qualify for Maternity Allowance.

Returning to Work