Talk

Advanced search

Debating whether to go to interview or not

(6 Posts)
athelophobic Wed 22-Jul-15 18:27:04

Backstory: I have a first class honours degree in psychology (graduated 2 years ago), and am currently working in admin at a local university. I had a rocky start with a department but after much hassle, managed to be transferred to a department under the same line manager but a different head of department (exactly where I had asked HR to move me-thanks in part to LM sticking her neck out and a letter from my psychiatrist recommending this move).

On a whim, I applied for a job as Trainee Psychologist (and while I was at it, 2 other posts -all with government ministries). Today I received an email offering me an interview for one of the other 2 posts (which is odd as the Trainee Psych post closed long before it and I haven't heard a word).

Wondering whether to attend this (or any!) interviews. I am well qualified for all 3, and all would pay roughly the same amount as what I make now. For interviews, all I have to lose is a couple of hours of annual leave each time... but should I consider leaving my admin job? The uni where I work is paying for me to do a Diploma in Management, which is a perk, but if I opt to do a Masters in Psychology, I would have to leave anyway and any of the other 3 would be much more relevant.

I feel like whatever I do, I'll regret it. Line manager relies v heavily on me at the moment (am subbing in as maternity cover for one of her PAs along my regular tasks) and I'll feel horribly ungrateful leaving after she was so sweet to me when I was in a department I hated.

Sallyhasleftthebuilding Wed 22-Jul-15 18:29:58

Go for the interview, you have no decision to make unless offered the job. Interviews are a two way process.

goingwildforcrayons Wed 22-Jul-15 21:29:31

What Sally said. Go along, show them what you are made of, find out about them and the role.

A) you might really like it and get it and go for it