Talk

Advanced search

Undermined at work: coping strategies please

(7 Posts)
Isabelle24 Thu 02-Jul-15 11:34:18

Work with two others who are very matey with each other and leaving me pretty much out in the cold. One of them, in particular, has a rather obviously low opinion of me (we do rather similar work) and only this morning send me a couple of unnecessarily censorious emails and, for no particular reason, copied in the other colleague.

We've worked in the office for about a year now and she's been developing the knack of putting me down from the outset. I think she thinks I'm rather dim. They're both younger than me and this one colleague in particular is seemingly intent on making me feel like little more than a middle aged mum, with not a lot to contribute. I have lots of relevant experience and have been pro-active and hard working since I started and don't encounter this attitude or subtle hostility elsewhere in the organisation. Working in this small team is quite isolating anyway and more so because of the efforts that my colleagues are making to find niggly ways of undermining me. The more difficult colleague is rather clearly exerting her influence over the other colleague who, when it's just her and me in the office, is perfectly nice. But when it's the three of us, it's a different matter.

I have other work but can't afford to give up the f-t post. All I do is look around. I'd be worried about giving up the day job until something else crops up.

I did once say that something that had been written about me in an email that went to quite a few people, hurt me but was slapped down in an effort to make me feel like a hopelessly sensitive person.

Anyway, any coping strategies that people can recommend would be warmly welcome. I won't see a huge amount of this unpleasant colleague over the Summer and would like to build my resilience for September, in case I find myself still working there.

SantiagoSky Thu 02-Jul-15 20:16:25