Talk

Advanced search

permanent Vs fixed term contract

(15 Posts)
Hollyab12 Wed 17-Jun-15 22:25:03

Hi

I've been employed by the same company (public sector) for 7 years. The first 3 on a fixed term contract and then I was told I had been made permanent (didn't receive a new contract though).

I've felt a bit vulnerable as some projects I work are coming to an end, so applied for a role I have been doing 50% for the last 10 months which is basically the same grade as my current role but funded a bit differently and with a different job title. I got the job. I was informed today that the new contract would be fixed term for 2 years, even though I'm currently on a permanent contract. They've said there is a very good chance of further funding beyond this which seems likely based on what I've heard from colleagues. I haven't been given notice of my current contract but it wouldn't be a particularly secure position so I definitely want the new job.

I'm uncertain what I'll loose if I move to a fixed term contract, other than that they don't need to give me notice in advance of the 2 years being up. Is it worth raising this with HR or should I just sign it? My plan was to contact HR and ask for a copy of my current contract so that I can compare it to the new one when I get it.

Any advice about this would be very much appreciated! I don't really want to make a fuss, I work with lovely people but I'm not particularly confident in our HR department based on past experiences.

Thanks very much for any advice you might have.

MaizieDaiziesxx Wed 17-Jun-15 23:13:24

Hello! I've not been in this kind of HR for a while but I'd advise to call the ACAS helpline, it's free and they can give you practical advice about your current employment rights and any that would carry over into your new role, even if an FTC. ..

Hollyab12 Wed 17-Jun-15 23:38:09

Thanks, will do!

helgaw99 Wed 17-Jun-15 23:57:35

Hello