Talk

Advanced search

Why do I want a job?

(17 Posts)
mygreeneyedboy Sun 07-Jun-15 19:28:49

I'm a graduate, never really worked, but starting to apply for my first jobs. My boyfriend, who works in recruiting, has set me a task, which apparently I need to know the answer to: "Why do I want to work/a job?"

I don't have a clue. Apart from money.

He won't give me any answers, but says I need three. Says I need to do some soul-searching if I don't know the answers... so I'm asking you guys... grin

So please can you give me reasons why you want to work?

LIZS Sun 07-Jun-15 19:31:37

Social
Recognition
Develop skills

LongDistanceLove Sun 07-Jun-15 19:35:15

From a recruitment pov, the question is usually 'why do you want to work here' at least that what it is where I have done recruitment.

As for why do you want a job? Is your area of experise of particular interest to you? Do you want to take over the world? Be a productive member of society?

Apart from that, do your own homework grin

Magmatic80 Sun 07-Jun-15 19:35:43

Self respect
Personal development
Social interaction with broad range of people

twirlypoo Sun 07-Jun-15 19:40:42

Self worth
Money
Social opportunities

I was a lone parent and took 2.5 years out after my Ds was born. I was shocked how much of my self esteem was tied up in having a job. My confidence and self worth plummeted. The money is bloody brilliant and lastly, you meet people through work - you may be friends, but at the very least it's nice to have someone to pass the time of day with.

tribpot Sun 07-Jun-15 19:41:39

Presumably he didn't intend that you just reach out online to get other people to give you the answers grin but clearly perhaps one of the reasons why you want a job is to be able to expand your knowledge, skills and network through contact with people who have interests in the same field as you! Passing skills and knowledge on is vital for continuity.