Talk

Advanced search

Part time after maternity leave?

(5 Posts)
Rose138 Mon 09-Feb-15 05:59:32

Hello all,

I started my maternity leave end of October. I'm a primary school teacher. I'm due back middle of July. I am loving time with my son so much that I do sit there every now and again and think how am I going to go back full time? I love my job but we have to be in at 8.00 and cannot leave until 4.30 even though the children leave at 3.25. Then there is the planning and marking each night and at the weekend. Fine when I didn't have my little man but if I am to go back and do this, I'll never see him! So my husband and I have discussed this and we can cope financially with me working part time.

My query to you all is when should I go and tell the head teacher? I am thinking as soon as possible? She is notorious for not giving people part time- with the exception of one lady who returned from maternity leave in September last year. So if she says no to me should I say I'm confused as a colleague has had part time this year- or will that come across rude?

If I don't get part time I'll have to look elsewhere for part time but I'm not sure on the rules of my maternity pay- would I have to pay some back if I don't return to my original school?

Thank you all in advance! Xxx

confusedandemployed Mon 09-Feb-15 06:20:43

If you have been employed for 26 weeks or more you have a legal right to request past time working. Your head must consider your request and if she refuses she must give a genuine business request for doing so. There are 7 or 8stated possible business reasons.