Talk

Advanced search

Leaving job, retraining, working abroad

(8 Posts)
Runawaytosea Mon 19-Jan-15 16:23:55

Name changed as less likely for two plus two to equal four.

I'll start by saying I have no children (but have been recommended here as a really good place for women to be advised) and no mortgage, so no ties that make my proposed life change really difficult.

I'm currently in a reasonably paid job that I do not enjoy. Never meant it to be a career, and I am becoming increasingly disenchanted with work, the general sexism here (less holiday than the men, for eg), other people etc.

I've always wanted to work abroad at some stage in my life, and I have always wanted to teach. Since I was 14 (I'm in my early thirties) I've been an instructor/coach in a variety of different roles/activities, so I do have some experience teaching (though none of the paperwork pressure) and I know I enjoy it.

My current plan is to quit and work abroad (TEFL - I already have the qualification ) for a year or two. If I really enjoy teaching then apply to do a PGCE. If I find I don't enjoy it then I shall have to think again, but at least I'll know.

Is this completely insane? I know it will have implications for having children/relationships, though if it is only a year I'm abroad I don't know if I should factor that in. I'm not tied down by a mortgage, and while I have no intention of spending all my savings I do have about a year's salary in savings so am financially secure (for a bit).

Living Mon 19-Jan-15 19:13:58

Do it. There's nothing stopping you.

EBearhug Mon 19-Jan-15 23:12:12

I took a break when I was 29/30 to go travelling.