Talk

Advanced search

Will having a baby compromise my chances of promotion/progression? (Secondary teacher)

(9 Posts)
rhihaf Tue 18-Mar-14 14:06:23

I'm a secondary school teacher, started in current job September 2013, and we are thinking about trying for baby no.2.

My concern is this - the department in which I work is not particularly successful/well-managed and it's been fairly difficult to keep my head above water with the resources available to me. I know that come Sept 2014, having had a chance to improve resources/refine/organise, life will be a lot easier and I'll earn lots of brownie points for having whipped things into shape.

However, if we were to get pregnant, some of my exam classes would have to manage with a supply/temp teacher AND I've been promised Alevel (cream of the crop!) for September. How socially acceptable is it for new staff to go off on maternity leave within a year of starting their job? I'm torn between wanting to do the best for my classes/department and establishing a positive reputation, and not wanting a huge age-gap between possible kids (DS will be 2 in June)...

I am so confused, please help.

Middleagedmotheroftwo Tue 18-Mar-14 14:07:56

Your employer CANNOT discriminate on grounds of you being pregnant/having a baby. FACT.

rhihaf Tue 18-Mar-14 15:25:14

No. I suppose I'm trying to weigh up what's best for us personally vs what's best for me professionally. I know officially they can't discriminate, but... I also want to look after my career prospects. And if they did, I'm not sure I'd want to confront them about it anyway.
Why is being a woman/mother so bloody hard?! Thanks for your reply Middle smile

Living Tue 18-Mar-14 19:28:00

how is it going off on maternity leave within a year of starting the job if you're not yet pregnant? Am I counting wrong on mtly fingers?

Middleagedmotheroftwo Wed 19-Mar-14 12:33:28