Talk

Advanced search

My doctor and work doctor disagree, what now?

(20 Posts)
Technical Mon 03-Mar-14 13:30:48

I had been off sick following a long illness and an operation, for 6 months. At my last appointment with the consultant, I asked him to sign me fit to work as my paid sick leave was coming to an end - he would have given me another sick certificate if I'd wanted it but gave me a fit note saying I should have a phased return building up to a max of 5 hours per day for 3 months (I officially work f-t)

Work felt the phasing was too slow and I was either fit to work with a shorter phased return building up to f-t within c. 6 weeks or that I wasn't actually fit to work at all. I had returned to work in January had and built up to 5 hours pd.

Meantime, work sent me to see the LA doctor (I work in a school) and they have actually said they don't think I should be at work at all, or if I am it should be for a max of 3 hours per day for at least 12 months. This is not feasible for my place of employment (who have been brilliant) or for me as I need to be paid f-t (or close to)

ATM I am doing the 3 hours and am on half-pay for the remaining hours of the working day but this is not sustainable for my employer, they need someone there f-t and it won't be easy to recruit to fill my un-worked hours.

What happens now? Who gets the final say, the work doctor or my consultant? What are the likely implications for me? Do they have to let me do the 3 hours or can they make me stay at home? Can I lose my job for being unwell? As I have been back to work, do I get another 6 months paid leave if I go sick again now (clutches at straws)

I can see both POV. I need to work but am not fully fit and if I'm honest not doing a great job even for the hours I'm there but I am doing my best and I need the job.

BoffinMum Mon 03-Mar-14 15:36:14

Removing all other considerations, what do you personally think about how your health is and how much ideally you should be doing?