Talk

Advanced search

Returning to work full-time?

(7 Posts)
ParanoidAnnie Thu 27-Feb-14 10:38:35

Long time lurker and occasional poster.

I need some career advice. I currently work as a part time administrator (5 years in this job) which is great as it fits round school hours and it's only 4 days a week (20 hours). I am over qualified for this role and there are no promotion prospects.

Before having DD's (2 DD's age 10 and 8) I was a Finance and Administration Manager for a large national charity. I loved the job. I was made redundant whilst pregnant which enables me to be a SAHM, which I also loved

I'm now ready to go back to work full time. I have no idea what I can do and with no experience for 10 years I'm not getting anywhere with my job applications. I feel like I'm banging my head against a wall. I have a lot to give a future employer. I'm reliable, honest, hard working and very quick to learn.

Has taken the last 10 years of from full-time employment been a bad decision for my future prospects? It feels like it. I don't regret for it one minute as I have loved the time with DD's. It does seem however that this comes at a price.

Has anyone been in this situation? Can you offer any advice?

Longsuffering2 Thu 27-Feb-14 10:58:55

Hi Paranoid - why don't go back to the charity(s) - you could take a look at parenting charities or organisations which are going to be sympathetic or receptive to your career break status. I think Aurora is an organisation which promotes women in the workplace - see which firms have a presence on their site and are family friendly.
Get a friend to look over your CV... Do you have a personal statement, does this convey your commitment to returning to work for good? Research companies which employ a more mature profile...can be hard if you are up against 20 something singletons and that is what the company is after. Stick with it & good luck!