Talk

Advanced search

Calling all Nurses / Student Nurse!!!

(35 Posts)
OneWayStreetToNoWhere Thu 20-Feb-14 12:51:30

I am a student nurse (2nd year) and I am on a year out, due back in May. I took a year out from my course as I had a really bad placement (bullying etc) and I couldn't cope with it, was crying in the bathroom several times a day during my shift. The uni got involved but weren't much help. Anyway been on a year out since sept and now due to go back and finish off this placement (but in a different area) in may. My problem is that whenever I think about going back I get anxious, sweaty palms etc. I have been to a counsellor (for months) to try and get over this to go back, in total I have 29 weeks of placement left to complete before I qualify, thats roughly 1073 hours...(thats how much i am dreading this). Its so hard between essays and academic stuff as well as learning practical skills and trying to fit into another ward and team and feeling like the outsider as well as working long shifts with little contact with family or friends during the day so feel even more isolated and cut off. I have asked my uni if i could do 9-5 5 days a week instead of 3 12 hour shifts but understandably they refused. I have no idea how I am meant to get through the remainder of my course. I also do supply work in the hosp as a HCA and feel the same anxiety whenever I am due for a shift as its always a different ward/don't know anyone etc. Any advice/help? Pleasse! I'm only 20, came straight out of school into this so terrified if i pack my course in, i wont be able to get another job with a different degree.

OneWayStreetToNoWhere Thu 20-Feb-14 13:38:10

Bump

Dontwanttobeyourmonkeywrench Thu 20-Feb-14 13:57:34