Talk

Advanced search

retired colleague and someone want to jump in for the available position

(4 Posts)
keeppositive1 Tue 11-Feb-14 15:08:04

one colleague 1 retires this year. I have been working in the company for few years. As I was talking to the manager some time ago about taking more responsibilities, I was told that as there is this colleague 1, he needs to have responsibilities and that there is nothing for me... In the meantime another colleague 2 who started not so long time ago on a part time contract had a chat with my manager that she would like to take on that position as a trainee. I have heard that manager was positive, but of course nothing confirmed. I feel really upset as 1. I have been asking for it many years and no result, 2. I have been established in a company for a number of years 3. how can they take someone without advertising? unless it is a training position? please share your ideas...thank you

PeterParkerSays Tue 11-Feb-14 15:17:45

Is the manager able to recruit the replacement for colleague 1, or does it have to get approval from HR? If the latter, the manager can't just create a trainee post.

If it is up to the manager, I'd be careful how you handle this, as it could come across as sour grapes on your part. Colleague 2 seems to have put a proposition to the manager regarding the creation of a trainee post undertaking the work on colleague 1. The fact that she is part time, and arrived more recently would be irrelevant, hence it looking like sour grapes, so I wouldn't mention that.

Also, if colleague 2 is doing this as a trainee, she'd presumably be paid less than colleague 1, at least whilst training, whereas you'd be looking for colleague 1's salary, so you were offering two different things when you and she approached your manager.