Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Advice for a first time manager, please?

(11 Posts)
heritagewarrior Tue 21-May-13 18:26:59

Today I have been offered and accepted a promotion at work. Next month I will begin line managing six other staff having never formally managed anyone before. I was previously a member of the team I will head up. Any tips on how to go about successfully transitioning from being on of the team to heading it up?

heritagewarrior Tue 21-May-13 18:27:39

*one of the team. Doh!

WipsGlitter Tue 21-May-13 18:53:18

Tricky. I've no experience of this, I've always gone in as a new manager. It's hard because all the moaning about the boss you all - presumably - indulged in, and now that's you!

Do you sit with them or in an office? Are there any 'quick wins' stuff you've all complained about that would be easy to sort out? How did they react to you getting the job?

BrawToken Tue 21-May-13 18:57:50

Oooooh, I hope this will be me soon too. Just applied for a promotion to manage the team I am currently on. I am excited about the prospect of the promotion as I would love that job, but I am also crapping myself if I get it, how will people react to me? I am really good mates with my team. Is it possible to manage people and be good mates with them or do you have to kiss the friendships goodbye?!

PoppyWearer Tue 21-May-13 18:58:27

Don't go lording it over them, obviously.

It is difficult, as sooner or later there will be something where you have to be "them" (the bosses) rather than "one of us" (the team).

Reviews are tough, having to give honest feedback to someone who was your equal is very difficult.

In the meantime, look for some quick wins, like cancelling useless meetings, eradicating stuff that annoys everyone. But don't change TOO much in one go.

Do you get any training?

middleeasternpromise Tue 21-May-13 19:03:21