Talk

Advanced search

Desperately need careers help

(4 Posts)
legolamb Tue 14-May-13 18:52:48

Hopefully I've namechanged for this. I'm in my late 20s and currently work for a very large charity in an entry level admin role and I'm bored to tears. I graduated 3 years ago with a 2:2 in an Arts subject and not getting a 2:1 really knocked my confidence, and working for a charity seemed like it would be a nice friendly environment, as well as getting to make a difference. I'm fed up of the charity sector - my pay is terrible and I just find it a bit too 'slow'.

I want to earn more money. I like the idea of having a skill or qualification that makes me sought after, though I'm not sure what. At the moment I feel that I have very basic, general skills and experience - nothing to make me hugely attractive to an employer. An acquaintance has just got a job in Compliance and is going to be doing exams - this might be something I'm interested in but I'm not sure how to go about it (she got in through her degree subject). I plan on doing a Masters, possibly part time or with the OU in something business-related.

Any suggestions or help would be appreciated!

Twirlbitesruinedmylife Tue 14-May-13 22:53:54

Sorry your work isn't fulfilling and that you are trying to build your career at such a difficult economic time.

I would be wary of doing further study without a clear purpose for that study.

When I was in my 20s I did a job I loved (solicitor) but I didn't feel I was giving enough to my wider community so I volunteered (Samaritan, helping at law centre.) Although I didn't do the voluntary work for this reason it also developed my skills and when I came to look for a new role made me a more interesting candidate.

I'd really recommend you looked at doing some volunteering. Lots of small charities are looking for trustees and such a role would give you experience of leadership, communication and problem solving.

I hope this helps.

lovefreelance Wed 15-May-13 12:48:09