Talk

Advanced search

flexible working request - fixed days?

(6 Posts)
meebles Fri 05-Apr-13 20:28:21

I'm returning to work in a few months, and want to make a flexible working request in order to fix my shifts rather than have them dotting all over the place . Firstly, does this fall within the possible requests, and secondly, does anyone gave any suggestions as to how this won't effect the business? I'm a nurse on rotating shifts, and happy to continue working my contracted hours and rotate to weekends and nights. I just want to have my childcare demands fall on the same weekdays each week (except when I'm working weekends obviously) as organising childcare will be impossible otherwise (1 5 year old at school and a 14 month old). I honestly can't think of any negative possibilities since we're all interchangeable at my band anyway.

chanie44 Sat 06-Apr-13 12:40:26

Why don't you just say that for childcare reasons you need set days but on those set days can work earlies/lates/nights as appropriate and can be flexible on weekends. Say you are happy to discuss which days (If you can).

ValarMorGoolis Sat 06-Apr-13 12:45:37

I got it.

I took a line out of the roster and showed that the rest of the roster could work without it.

GeraldineAubergine Sat 06-Apr-13 12:46:05

I'm a nurse (theatres) and when I applied for flexible working set shifts, I put it to my manager that I would be more reliable than if I was unable to have fixed, definite child care and that I would be a more productive member of the team if I wasn't continually stressed about my rota. I was allowed it on a trial basis but as it had no impact on the service my manager has been happy to allow me to continue. I do also help out with nights and weekends if I can. I try and help out as they have been supportive of me.

BriansBrain Sat 06-Apr-13 12:47:43

I think fixed days sounds very workable.

Your will be asking to still work early lates and nights but just to be able to do them on set days?