Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Off work sick but been offered a job advice needed

(6 Posts)
kel63kel Tue 16-Oct-12 01:24:09

Hi there I'm new to this but need some advice I been off work for 4 week due to stress as my mam is poorly and I work a good 45 min drive away, while I been off I have been offered a job subject to references an crb check I have advised at interview that I am currently off sick at work but was still advised job is mine as long as crb check an references ok, i have no worries with crb check just worried about reference as I'm off sick haven't told current employer don't know what to say an dint know whether to just hand in notice really want this new job as so much closer 2 home and its something I've wanted to do for long time. Any advice would be much appreciated.

annh Tue 16-Oct-12 08:41:34

Well, you could resign from your current position but you will still need a reference from your current employer. If your new employer is aware that you are on sick leave and the circumstances surrounding this, then they may be expecting some mention of absence record on any reference. Unless you have concerns about anything else which they may say in your reference, it therefore shouldn't make any difference to the job offer? More generally, however, as your current absence seems to be due to your personal circumstances rather than your work, I would expect any new employer to enquire about how you feel you will be able to function in a new role when you have been off with stress in your current role for a month? Apart from being closer to home, what else will change?

flowery Tue 16-Oct-12 09:26:55

I agree with annh.