Talk

Advanced search

Can Employers cut our salaries?

(16 Posts)
Jellybellyrbest Mon 24-Sep-12 22:45:52

Hi, I've been called into a meeting at work tomorrow. I'm on ML & I've been advised I need to attend & to bring baby in if necessary.
My Colleague thinks that we'll be told at this meeting we have to take a cut in pay. Can our Employers do this? I work as a nurse for a GP practice.

AgentProvocateur Mon 24-Sep-12 22:52:11

Yes. Or your hours.

Northernlurkerisbackatwork Mon 24-Sep-12 22:57:24

Sounds like something big and unpleasant is happening. Yes your employer can cut pay, vary hours etc.

flowery Tue 25-Sep-12 09:11:14

It's not nearly as simple as that, they can't just cut your hours and salary, no. These are your terms and conditions and they require your consent to change them.

However, as long as they consult with you properly and have excellent business reasons for the change, they may be able to force it though after jumping through some hoops.

Jellybellyrbest Tue 25-Sep-12 10:04:41

Thanks Folks! Thought as much. Yes...am dreading it!

domesticgodless Tue 25-Sep-12 10:06:09

Well they can 'restructure' which means making you reapply for a 'new' job at a lower salary etc.

Welcome to our brave new corporate dystopia. Hugs to you I'm v sorry to hear this.

Xenia Tue 25-Sep-12 10:16:08

Sometimes for example staff would rather they all accept a 20% pay cut than in in 5 be laid off. In the current climate that indeed might be the best compromise although I am not so sure GP practices' income has got so low that there would be redundancy situations arising - take legal advice, take notes, agree nothing on the day.

Even consider if you could go self employed and contract your services in to them and other practices. You might ultimately make more money that way and woudl be your own boss.

hermioneweasley Tue 25-Sep-12 20:50:56

Jelly - is there an update?

missingmumxox Tue 25-Sep-12 21:29:05