Talk

Advanced search

Put in a difficult position and no support given

(11 Posts)
lololizzy Thu 13-Oct-11 13:42:20

I am an assistant manager for a well known charity shop. The manager left and has not been replaced as yet (probably given that the salary advertised is so appallingly low- basically an unliveable wage).
I am meant to be working part time (three days a week) but readily agreed to do more days while they look for her replacement. However, by that I meant doing 5 or 6 days a week...recently it's turned into 7 days (ie whole of last month) and I am exhausted and rundown.
The bigger issue however, is the way I am being treated.
Perhaps I am wrong here (and would welcome all opinions on this) and not being responsible enough (having said that, going from 3 to 7 days a week doesn't exactly show irresponsibility..more that I DO care about my shop trading and not having to shut due to staff shortage) but I feel unhappy that in order to get a day off each week, this is something I have to arrange myself..
Neither HR nor my Area Manager will arrange cover for me to have a day off. This is something I have to do myself, or it simply doesn't happen. This involves every week ringing round several other shops (none of which are local...we don't have another one locally) and basically..grovelling. To someone whom I have never met, to persuade them to come and cover for me. And, it's like getting blood out of a stone. I go through this humiliating ritual every week.
I don't blame them...they don't know me from Adam and have to go and work in a strange shop which involves quite a bit of travel to get too. (they do get expenses paid).