Talk

Advanced search

Defamation

(12 Posts)
WoodBetweenTheWorlds Fri 30-Sep-11 21:41:46

I am a manager, dealing with performance issues relating to one of my team. I first tried to address these issues through informal means, now going through a more formal process. I believe that the employee has serious mental health problems.

The employee previously brought a grievance against me, claiming that I was bullying her. This was investigated but thrown out. She appealed but the appeal wasn't upheld. Some of the "evidence" that she presented was clearly fabricated, and as I had clear proof of this, I considered putting in a counter claim for malicious grievance. Foolishly, perhaps, I didn't, because I had had enough of all the unpleasantness and just wanted to get on with my job.

We work in a large organisation, and a number of my contacts have reported that this member of staff is spreading malicious rumours about me - some about the alleged "bullying" and others about ways in which she believes I am failing in my job (all unfounded and demonstrably untrue.) She has very little credibility in the organisation generally, so I doubt that many people really take what she says seriously. However, the situation seems to be escalating, and a close personal friend of hers (who works in a different department) appears to be contributing to the gossip. I want to know what, if anything, I can do about this. Or should I just try to ignore it?

In light of the other processes going on, my employer doesn't want me to take disciplinary action with regard to this issue. Can I put in a grievance against someone I line manage (as well as her friend)? Legally, what constitutes slander, and what sort of proof is required?