Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

freelance struggling to support family

(4 Posts)
somewherebecomingrain Wed 21-Sep-11 21:25:53

I'm a freelancer who has about 3 regular clients and various intermittent ones, working to support my family. My partner is constantly on the verge of making it big in his dream job - to give him credit, he definitely is close - but he's not earned for a long time. My working life isn't terrible - my clients seem pretty happy with me but I just don't have enough clients.

Anyway it's getting very precipitous - we're on month 4 of a potential 6 month mortgage holiday.

I just went for a 6 month contract that would have solved all our problems and didn't get it - discovered that someone had been lined up for the job and I'd never had a chance. (Apparently they thought I was good, just not as good as the other person. Not much help!)

I'm feeling quite punctured. and sort of sore through my body.

I had a dream last night that it was raining and all the ceilings were dripping - our roof just didn't work.

Anyone else?

CocktailQueen Wed 21-Sep-11 22:32:15

That sounds really tough. On you! How long has your dp been not earning?? I think you need to give him a deadline to 'make it big' then ask him to get a paying job. He could always give it up if he did make it big. It's not fair on you, imo, to provide for the family while he is trying to live a dream.

northerngirl41 Thu 22-Sep-11 17:34:06

I have news for you.... you're not doing it right! Being a freelancer should mean that notonly are you making decent money, you are also making enough money to cover your tax, your marketing and the lean periods when bsuiness is slow!
Have you tried "the Wealthy Freelancer"? Great book with some top tips.
Could you raise your rates even 10%?
Is there scope for getting more bog standard work which you have a set procedure for?