Talk

Advanced search

Will I ever be happy?

(8 Posts)
bunchofbananas Wed 21-Sep-11 18:23:45

Have worked in a multitude of industries and jobs. The last few years as a PA to fairly senior bods in private sector.

I have a degree and am now 40. It looks unlikely that I will have children now so I would really like to get this work thing cracked. I had planned to set up my own company but I just feel so lost. I'm not sure if it's the right direction.
I have also thought about retraining to become a Primary school teacher for quite a long time. I just worry that they will look at my long and varied CV and chuck it in the bin!

Anyone else been in the same position and manage to overcome it to become happy and fulfilled at work? The rest of my life is great. Just wish I could get this part sorted!

Any advice appreciated.

RubyRooRoo Thu 22-Sep-11 00:01:00

Hi bunchofbananas

This is just the sort of career issue I work with everyday with my clients. Having been there myself years ago, I wish I'd had someone intelligent and neutral to enable me to work out what I really wanted.

There is a lot of cynicism about coaching, because its unregulated, but we're not all the same! The reason executives pay a fortune for coaching is because it works. I choose not to work with execs as I prefer to make good coaching affordable to real women.

If you're in London, take a look at my website www.timeforachange.biz for or call me for a chat (my number's on the site). If not, ask around for recommendations of a good coach. A few sessions with a coach you like and trust would be a great investment in your future and help you to sort out what you want.

cupcakeandtea Mon 26-Sep-11 08:35:46

Bunchofbananas, I feel your pain.