Talk

Advanced search

Am I entitled to have my wish to drop my hours considered?

(21 Posts)
TobyLeWolef Thu 25-Aug-11 10:42:40

I've never used this section before, so I don't know if there are many regulars here who might know, but it's worth a shot!

Basically, for various complicated exH-related issues, I would like to change my working hours so that I can be at home with the children a bit more. My children are 11 (just going into Y7) and 10 (just going into Y6).

I currently work full-time (37.5hrs) in a line-management position for a small company. My hours of work are the standard 9am - 5.30pm, 1 hour for lunch, Monday - Friday.

I would like to change my hours so that I work 9 - 5.30 on Mondays, then Tuesday to Friday 9 - 3.30. On the shorter days, I would not take a lunchbreak (I don't take one at present anyway), so would only be missing out on 4 hours' pay per week.

My boss can be a little... shall we say... 'difficult'. Sometimes she's perfectly amenable and flexible. Other times she's less so. It's hard to tell which she'll be from one day to the next.

So I'd like to go in to her armed with the facts.

Am I legally entitled to have my request seriously considered?
Will she have to give a reasonable explanation if she declines my request?

Thanks in advance!

Jacksterbear Thu 25-Aug-11 10:49:17

I think the short answer is yes you are entitled to have it considered under the flexible working regime and yes your boss would have to give a reason to turn you down but from what I understand it's pretty easy for employers to find business reasons saying it doesn't work for the business, if they are not willing to play ball.

TobyLeWolef Thu 25-Aug-11 10:56:37

Yes, that's what I thought. Thanks smile

Is that what it's called then? The flexible working regime?

What I really want is something I can google that will tell me exactly where I stand. Or better yet, someone who will explain it to me <bit thick> grin

Jacksterbear Thu 25-Aug-11 10:58:47