Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

In my mid 30's and stuck in a job that just pays the bills- help!

(6 Posts)
Bumblequeen Fri 15-Jul-11 14:52:47

I hold a media studies degree and when I graduated 11 years ago I was unable to find a job- well one that actually paid a decent salary! I have secretarial skills so went into the Business Administration field and am now a Senior Officer./PA I enjoy multitasking and the variety this role brings, however I do not have a passion for it.

I completed a one year counsellors course and soon after we decided to plan for a family and took out a mortgage which we needed two salaries for. I put the two year degree on hold.

Five years later, I am still in the same sector and have one child at nursery. We cannot afford to pay my study fees due to mortgage, debt, nursery fees etc. Although I earn a fairly decent salary £30k+ I am at the top of my scale. I think I could cope if I received a yearly increment.

I planned to do a work based course (two days project management) but due to cuts, my organisation are reducing their spending.

Where do I go from here? I feel there are no options and I really do not want to spend another 30 years in similar roles.

I wish I had chosen a specific degree course - a subject that would have given me more choices.

LaurieFairyCake Fri 15-Jul-11 14:56:14

As a lecturer in Counselling I think you should go back - part-time, evening course then you can do your normal job at the moment.

I teach it in a local college which is cheaper than major uni's - £2k a year (so 4k for a 2 year diploma course).

Then once you have done your course you can re-assess. I never went back to my old job after training but nearly all my students have a full time job while training (yes, it is hard).

Whatever you do, good luck smile

Bumblequeen Fri 15-Jul-11 15:18:33

Thank you for your encouragement.