Talk

Advanced search

Allegations and unpleasantness - what should I do?

(8 Posts)
bravenewepsilon Sun 10-Jul-11 08:38:49

I work in a school and last year a new manager joined who in my view has had trouble maintaining classroom control. There is a horrible atmosphere at work with information being given to some but not others, whispering, that kind of thing. I have tried to express my concerns but been stonewalled ...however last year a colleague commented on the behaviour issues and I was frank in admitting a problem existed ..which has not helped matters. Every day I dread going to work. I now have the possibility of a new job elsewhere, but a few days ago I was summoned by the HT who proceeded to give me a verbal warning for professional misconduct. He alleged I'd been discussing matters with parents, which I denied. He said a parent had told him I'd made a derogatory remark about the manager but could not give me an example. He said the manager had been to him six months ago (around time colleague commented on behaviour issues) in tears saying I hated her and that the atmosphere had been picked up in a recent ofsted inspection. Also that I had made cynical remarks about ofsted (true).
I was pretty shocked by what he said. I confirmed I have been concerned about the behaviour and lack of unity at work but not in any personal way. I have never discussed issues with parents. I asked why no one had mentioned the issues to me before. I said my views on ofsted were that best practice should be an all round matter, not a two day show of compliance (a bit more diplomatically). He backed down a bit. All the time he'd been taking notes but he said he wouldn't put them on my file and that I should talk to manager. He said I would be working for her directly next year if I stayed, not my current line manager who also has concerns. I didn't ask him about the change in role but from what I can infer it will be a demotion in terms of job content.