Talk

Advanced search

Can employer ask you to go to the Gp for a bloodtest?

(8 Posts)
Putthatbookdown Sat 09-Jul-11 21:54:50

Just like that Without any advice from OH etc How far can unqualified people go on your health?

moaningminniewhingesagain Sat 09-Jul-11 23:38:36

I think it depends on the context really - what test do they want you to have and why. Some companies don't have Occ Health depts and would direct you to the GP.

EG for previous jobs I have had blood tests for hepatitis and rubella immunity because I work in healthcare - normal. I wouldn't expect that if I had an office job though.

The GP is unlikely to send you for a blood test they don't think you need IME. And any blood test could only be done with your consent.

Putthatbookdown Sun 10-Jul-11 10:17:24

Right . I refused as she was just fishing.Also I had just had them in the hospital and my relatives WHO ARE MEDICALLY QUALIFIED told me the blood tests were extensive (for Methotrexate) Thereafter lots of fishing went on

moaningminniewhingesagain Sun 10-Jul-11 11:43:59

Did they tell you what test they wanted? Or why? Are they concerned about your sickness/absence?

Unless they are health professionals simply having the blood tests will tell them little - they won't have the ability to interpret them/understand what they mean. They could ask you to see your GP about your fitness to do the role.

But if you are on methotrexate I suspect the underlying condition will likely be covered by DDA law anyway, which may give you some additional protection in regard to absence problems. May be worth posting in Employement Issues too.

moaningminniewhingesagain Sun 10-Jul-11 11:44:39

OOOps you have, had assumed this was in health! sorry

Putthatbookdown Sun 10-Jul-11 13:37:06