Talk

Advanced search

Not allowed to receive phonecalls from childminder

(21 Posts)
CharlieMc Sun 26-Jun-11 14:43:49

Hi I am a nurse in a nursing home and my employer told me that I was not allowed to receive any phonecalls from my childminder whilst at work, I wondered if this is right or if there is any employment law regarding this as surely I should be able to be contactable at all times?

That is outrageous, what if you need to go and pick up your child if they are ill or hurt.

Grabaspoon Sun 26-Jun-11 14:44:59

My boss isn't always contactable - If there was an emergency then they would put me through but otherwise I just send a text and she calls me when she is on a break.

boysrock Sun 26-Jun-11 14:47:55

Dont see why she would know. Mobile phone in pocket on vibrate and text. Problem solved.

meditrina Sun 26-Jun-11 14:48:46

There are lots of types of employment where you cannot receive calls when on duty.

Not allowing use of personal mobile is however not the same as forcing you to be out of touch.

Give the childminder the landline number. Make sure that whoever answers the phone is fully briefed about likely urgency of call and knows where to find you.

iskra Sun 26-Jun-11 14:51:37

I don't agree that this is outrageous. Presumably there is an office number you can give your childminder, so that she can leave an urgent message to be passed on to you. Presumably also you trust your childminder since you leave your child with them.

There are lots of jobs where people simply can't have their phone on all the time.

CharlieMc Sun 26-Jun-11 15:36:15

Sorry guys, I didnt make myself clear, we are not allowed to carry mobile phones, in fact they are not allowed on the premises. My problem is that my boss would not allow my childminder to call via the nursing home office/landline.

flowery Sun 26-Jun-11 15:40:01