Talk

Advanced search

Not aware of possible promotion while on maternity leave

(13 Posts)
FlubbaBubba Sun 12-Jun-11 23:28:43

Hi, hopefully someone can advise me as I'm frustrated by this but not sure where I stand.

I am a teacher and am currently on maternity leave (due to return in January 2012). I had a KIT meeting about a month ago with HT to discuss my possible role when (if?) I return. No mention made of any promotions.

I have since found out that two colleagues of mine have been internally promoted to positions that I could well easily have applied for and with which, IMHO, I could have been successful.

(btw, I found out through checking work emails and saw the ad and then the congratulations email - both of which were sent to all staff.)

Do I have a responsibility to check work emails while on maternity leave?
Does the school have a responsibility to alert me to any possible promotions (either to my home email, or in a different way?) while I'm on maternity leave?

Feel I've been overlooked (I assume unintentionally) because of being on mat. leave. sad

Will bump this in the morning but had to write this now as it's going round and round in my head now and stopping me sleeping.

1Catherine1 Mon 13-Jun-11 00:10:16

I think unless they blocked your access to the school e-mail system (assuming you can access it at home) then it was probably your responsibility to check. I know I occasionally check mine (am also a teacher on ML) but I must admit I didn't check until my DD was about 8 weeks old - I just didn't have time and even then I just scanned through who it was from and the subject and only opened it if it looked relevant to me. I now have a couple of hundred unread e-mails but I do browse them once a week.