Talk

Advanced search

teacher employment issues, I think I am being primed for redundancy

(7 Posts)
kickingking Sat 28-May-11 09:24:45

Sorry, I think this is going to be long.

I'm a teacher. I started working in almost two years ago at a school which had recently gone into an Ofsted category. I was employed as p/t PPA cover. I didn't have much support - was messed about with my timetable quite a bit over that year and observed internally, and told my planning was not good enough when I was actually using the class teachers plans.

I was ordered- asked to do a class share this year. I asked for a new contract to represent my new job description and was told I didn't need one. The class share has not gone particularly well, I get on OK with the other teacher, but we are constantly told what we are doing is not good enough, although when we have been observed by external visitors we have come out OK. At one point, capability was hinted at to both of us.

I've now been told I will be back doing cover next year, and a member of senior staff who is non-class based will be doing the class share. However, I know that the school have too many teachers next year (due to falling roll), and I am convinced that when another teacher comes back from maternity leave, she will be put into the class share, the member of senior staff will come back out of the class and be able to do cover - and I will be made redundant/forced out on capabilty.

This is all speculation on my part, but I can see no other reason to move staff around in this way. I have no idea what to do to protect myself. Where do I start? Union? HR?

This is additionally complicated by the fact that I am/was intending to become pregnant soon - would I actually be better protected if I was pregnant or on maternity leave or would I be making myself more vulnerable?

StillSquiffy Sat 28-May-11 12:44:22