Talk

Advanced search

Redundancy questions

(17 Posts)
isthisabitdodgyorok Sat 08-Jan-11 09:31:13

I hope someone can help.

My brother works for a company that are looking to make redundancies. Volunteers have been sought and they have been told that if they agree to forgo their notice then they will get a slightly better package than if they work their notice. He has been there since he left school so looking at direct.gov I can see that he should be entitled to 12 weeks notice.

He has asked if he will be paid the notice instead but he has been told no. Is it possible to agree to forgo your right to statutory notice? In my limited experience of employment law as a manager myself, I've always been told that this isn't possible.

I've told him to ring ACAS etc but he can't do this until Monday. Any ideas?

flowery Sat 08-Jan-11 12:22:59

They can't force him to leave without his statutory notice but it perfectly possible for an employer and employee to mutually agree an earlier leaving date. This is common where notice periods are long, the employee has a new job he/she wants to start and the employer doesn't want them hanging around.

What do you mean he has asked if he will be paid his notice instead? Instead of what? Sorry that's not clear.

The advantage will be if someone thinks they can get a new job earlier than the end of their notice period- they will benefit from being freed up earlier and getting a bit of extra money. For anyone who feels they are unlikely to get something that soon, they will be better off taking a basic redundancy package and working their full notice. They will still be entitled to reasonable time off for interviews etc

isthisabitdodgyorok Sat 08-Jan-11 14:31:01